Nong-O Gaiyanghadao retains ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai title by split decision against Brice Delval
Nong-O Gaiyanghadao retains ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai title by split decision against Brice Delval | Pic: Supplied/ONE Championship

Nong-O Gaiyanghadao takes split decision Brice Delval

Thai champion Nong-O Gaiyanghadao put his ONE Bantamweight Muay Thai title on the line last night (Sep. 6) in Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam. Making his second championship defense he faced Algerian-French Brice Delval in the headliner of the event titled “Immortal Triumph”.

The pair squared off during five rounds of championship bout. The verdict went in favor of the champion, who retained his title by split decision.

“Delval came out the aggressor, pushing Nong-O back with a relentless barrage of punches and kicks. The Thai icon found his groove in the second round as he began to punish Delval with solid kicks to the body and to the legs all throughout the rest of the fast-paced match. The challenger, however, remained on the offensive as he managed to maintain his pace while also landing good shots on Nong-O. After five rounds of back-and-forth action, it was Nong-O who was declared the winner, remaining undefeated in his ONE career,” reads the event recap sent out by the promotion.

Nong-O claimed the inaugural belt by unanimous decision against Han Zi Hao this past February. In May he made his first successful defense by unanimous decision against Hiroaki Suzuki.

In the co-main event of ONE: Immortal Triumph Kulabdam Sor. Jor. Piek Uthai scored a unanimous decision against Bob Sacko. Also on the card, Nguyen Tran Duy Nhat stopped Azwan Che Wil in Round 3.

The rest of the card featured a series of bouts in kickboxing and Muay Thai. The complete fight results can be found below.

ONE: Immortal Triumph results

Nong-O Gaiyanghadao def. Brice Delval by split decision
Kulabdam Sor. Jor. Piek Uthai def. Bobo Sacko by unanimous decision
Nguyen Tran Duy Nhat def. Azwan Che Wil by KO (R3 at 2:45)
Anderson Silva def. Beybulat Isaev by KO (R1 at 2:19)
Chris Nguyen def. Yukinori Ogasawara by unanimous decision
Bi Nguyen def. Puja Tomar by split decision
Panpayak Jitmuangnon def. Masahide Kudo by unanimous decision
Mongkolpetch Petchyindee Academy def. Joseph Lasiri by majority decision
Santino Verbeek def. Juan Cervantes by majority decision
Kohei Kodera def. Singtongnoi Por Telakun by KO (R1 at 0:41)
Viktoria Lipianska def. Amber Kitchen by split decision
Michael Pham def. Mohamad Fakri Bin Yusoff by unanimous decision


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here