Three Dobyns-Bennett grapplers — Brennan Watkins, Jackson Hurst and Tre Morrisette — earned finals berths on Friday at the Williamson County Ag & Expo Center. Ditto for Elizabethton’s Jonathan Morton and Tyesha Thomas, Science Hill’s Tyler Seeley and Avery Kibelbek of David Crockett.

Morton is the defending 195-pound champion in Class A-AA. Kibelbek aims to repeat in the ladies’ 103 division.

Watkins (126), Seeley (132), Hurst (145) and Morrisette (160) successfully navigated the quarterfinal and semifinals rounds on the Class AAA event’s second day of activity.

The closest match any of the four wrestlers encountered was Watkins’ sudden victory-1 (5-3) over Rossview’s Samuel Shires in the semifinals.

In Saturday’s championship showdowns, Watkins meets up with Cleveland’s Trae McDaniel, Seeley goes against Rossview’s Ethan Moore, Hurst also gets a Rossview representative in Thomas Williams and Morrisette draws Dejon Glaster of Oakland.

Class A-AA and girls competition didn’t begin until Friday. The day saw Morton reel off three straight pins, down Logan Caldwell of Greenback in the round of 16 — then conquer Jerry Campbell (East Nashville Magnet) and Kambell Brown (Alcoa).

Standing in the way of Morton’s second consecutive title is Pigeon Forge grappler Caleb Wolfe.

Kibelbek got the job done by pinning Taylor Sullivan (Independence) and Destiny Shelton (Tullahoma), working more than five minutes to best both competitors. She’ll go for another gold Saturday against Elizabeth Raper of Cookeville.

Having come close to taking it all in the past, Thomas will try to break through in a 119-pound match against Clarksville Academy’s Annalynn Rakett. Thomas scored a pair of pins Friday, topping Science Hill’s Emma Wallen in the semifinals.

Locals joining the aforementioned winners on the medal stand in Class AAA are Science Hill’s Braxton Mann (138), Joseph Frye (152) and Jared Harter (160). As for Class A-AA, Sullivan South’s Alex Overbay secured a medal by pinning Pigeon Forge’s Khumovn Sattorov (3:52) in the third round of consolations.

Female medalists will include David Crockett’s Addie Stadler (125) and Science Hill’s Wallen and Olivia Gasteiger (150).

Dobyns-Bennett and Science Hill were fifth and sixth, respectively, in the Class AAA team standings after Friday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here